Faith like Airplanes

 

 

tumblr_lbamm0uE0O1qd5l3xo1_500_large_large

I always imagined the Christian faith  a lot like riding on a plane. There is no “visible” contact with the pilot but we know he is there. We walk into planes hoping and praying that it is a smooth flight with little or no turbulence. But as we strap in those seat belts our hearts are going a million miles and hour. The flight takes off and the turbulence begins and we either a) hold in our meal or b) we find our lunch contents rising up and before we know it….

I believe it is this way with our  lives and our stories. We get invited by God to step into all that he has for us, and in the midst of all this we can always do two things trust or fear. And this is the way that it has been. Being here has been one of the hardest and if not hardest things I’ve ever had to do. I’ve had to trust that He, God the Pilot is in control even when I am bouncing all around in my seat, and when I cannot see what He is up to.

DSCN2483

This season, has really dealt me some hard cards and the assent unto the mountain top is excruciatingly painful; but then something beautiful takes place in the midst of all the chaos, questions and uncertainty I feel mountains begin to melt underneath my feet. Not because of anything that I have done, but because God’s strength is finally melting them. No striving, no self exertion or pressure simply Jesus. My lungs are slowly enlarging, and my muscles are stretching.

These mountains serve a purpose, they build and edify us. Giving us a chance to fight and test our strength against the greatest restraints; and like any professional mountain climber knows, the journey leaves you winded but the view from the top leaves you breathless…

About a week ago, I got a chance to go to Presence conference here in Sydney and I can honestly say that those four days forever changed my life… God reveled so many things to me and he allowed me to breathe and believe that things somehow will get better. That at the end of this LONG, wearisome journey something beautiful awaits. Its hard to believe it at times because I feel so stuck and helpless… I see how short I fall and it drains me… I see of the things God gives us the honor to carry yet something so rooted in us entangles us and tells us we are unworthy or not good enough to carry those gifts.

DSCN2484

I honestly do not know how much more God wants me to learn in this season. This season that physically is turning into fall and vastly approaches the winter. When leafs fall off of trees and we say goodbye to the last lot of summer flowers; and in this season that spiritually feels like everything is dead and in vain. When it feels like I am trudging through negative degree weather to try and make it home.

I’m learning that no matter what the next season of my life looks like as one year closes in Australia to the one ahead I just know deep in my Spirit that something so good is awaiting. I am believing that I’ll get to take that trip, that I’ll get to witness another world yet not born in me and around me. There is so much beauty waiting to emerge  from ashes… somewhere in the midst of all the things we are facing are good things happening to the body of Christ the bride. Off somewhere in the distance are babies being born, weddings taking place, people finally going home to meet Jesus, souls being won, sickness leaving, and dead rising. There are greater things happening in us and around us greater and better than we could ever know. And like the word says when one part rejoices we should all rejoice…

I may have more questions than answers but I know somewhere deep down in my being, even in the days that all I can do is cry; that there is a God out there who believes in me and who has nothing but amazing things planned for me, for US.

DSCN2482

So together friends lets have faith, that the Pilot no matter what we are facing is taking care of us, that once we make that landing we will be embraced not only by those who love us but by Him whom loved us first, and whom safely set us down upon the rock.

 

Earth and sky, woods and fields, lakes and rivers, the mountain and the sea, are excellent schoolmasters, and teach some of us more than we can ever learn from books.
John Lubbock

Leave a Reply

