Stringing

Being happy isn’t having everything in your life be perfect. Maybe it’s about stringing together all the little things… and making those count for more than the bad stuff. Maybe we just get through it, and that’s all we can ask for… The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.

DSCN2323

The day has turned to night once again all too quickly. The sky has turned from an autumn clear blue to a dark sky as though God has spread out a black cloth over the starless expanse.

Sunday has come all too quickly, assignments remain undone, and a mini sermon waiting to be written and brought into being. I sense time is passing as fast as it would in an hourglass and my body is stuck in the chasm of its time, unmovable but worn by its effects, kind of like a body suspended in motion.

But I am learning that life is about stringing together all the little things. The little things that speak specifically to my heart and soul. By making these count more than the bad I realize how much God is for me for us. It makes me realize that I am not just coasting through the motions of life rather living in every tangible moment that is a God whisper, a Godly caress… these little things that God makes speak into my being. Especially in this season that is all rush and go…

DSCN2062

If I count these “little things” I feel like my soul can breathe, I feel as though my mind manages to be still and be present… By capturing the true essence of the moment its as though I marinate in it all and not just count it as something random or worth glazing over.

This morning I got the privilege of kissing a billion little cheeks, playing pretend house, and singing with kids on how much Jesus loves them. In those moments I capture the simplicity. I capture the true meaning of life. To know His love and to share his love; and remembering that no matter how bad I mess it up He is so for me… Seeing life play out in the lives of little kids in a healthy environment reminds me of the beauty of family, the beauty of a dad who appears to be like superman, a mother whom is all loving, and the light of life being lived without fear of embarrassment or shame; as a little kid twirled and danced in his socks to the beat of his own drum simply because he felt like it.

DSCN2120

I try to remember that life is more about giving than receiving through the example of a God centered family. On how one simple breakfast shared with a complete family (mom, dad, kids) can feel like such a huge comfort and breath of life especially when I am so far away from home, separated by a tumultuous expansive blue sea that sometimes feels like I’ll never cross again.

Eating an egg and bacon roll, and French toast is more amazing when shared with those whom truly love… looking into the baby blue eyes of a six month old baby and getting kissed all over my cheek and embraced by a tender little boy. These are the things I know God uses to remind me that I am not alone, and that every moment of this life is meant to be embraced… and this is how wonder begins to take residence back in the heart. Not treating everyday alike but finding, those small things that set the day apart… because in the world of God monotony does not exist… he never gets tired of making every daisy unique…

Great is his faithfulness;
his mercies begin afresh each morning.

Lamentations 3:23

For He cares about every detail of our lives…. God is soooooo good!

Lets count the details friends…. and when you feel like it dance for the sake of it.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

