He Chuckles

05112012

“I took a walk along the coastline sometime this week, and as I looked towards the horizon I realized of the greatness of God, and I never could have fathomed I would of walked along Australia’s coast. But God knew, and I am sure he smiled all along…”

The words of this man played over and over in my mind as we sat on the quiet bench nestled on the Street of Bourke. We sipped our Mocha’s in the quietude and ate our strawberry delicacies… and as we stared at the grass in front of us, and kept our eyes from the flurry of costumers going in and out from the bakery, I inhaled and smiled as  I realized God was smiling at our moment.

He knew years ago that I would be sitting underneath that very tree with one of my favorite people in the world, and I am sure He couldn’t help but chuckle every time I thought I would never make it to this place.

DSCN2555

And I am sure that even now when I have doubts of certain things I “think” will not happen in my life He chuckles. He chuckles because He knows the goodness that is to come, he chuckles because He knows of the good gifts that remain unopened. And He chuckles because He knows they are a lot closer than I can possibly think; simple because His timing is perfect, and nothing will delay by a single day.

I sometimes have this image of God. I picture him sitting over a giant calendar of my life and he rubs his hands in anticipation as he writes in great happenings, as he marks those days when I finally head to India, when I graduate, when I have a new and fresh encounter of whom he is, when I see the sunset as more than it is, as I walk down the aisle, or as I complete and do something that was challenging. And I have no doubt that the surprises he writes are nothing short of beautiful, because they are for us…much more intricate than we can ever conceive in our minds or fornicate. And He smiles through it all with full bellied joy and waits in anticipation as we receive all that he has….

Oh how he chuckles…

228417012321145386_yZBy0ziD_c

The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing. (Zephaniah 3:17)

http://youtu.be/eOHmJPbYEDU

Leave a Reply

