Psalm 139

IMG_2420

*Photo from my trip to Melbourne & The Great Ocean Road.

We stood before the majestic rocks arising like giants from the restless misty ocean crashing and “shhhing” its way towards the shoreline; and I simply stood watching this symphony of God…

Now, I find myself enjoying a quiet morning on a rainy day in Sydney and I am feeling as restless as the ocean was that day. Pondering too many thoughts for my own good… thinking and trying not to fall into the trap of my reality. Because sadly, my reality is that it looks like it will be another Christmas away from my family, and thinking of two months of being “here” (though nothing wrong with the geographical location its just that it feels “hollow”) I feel the urge to cry, or hammer down anything chocolate coated, and attempting to push away the thought that there are only four seats (four tickets) for the flight I would need to take.

Its not the end of the world if I don’t see my family but the truth is… its been too long. And in an effort to keep my heart at peace I did the one thing I could do this morning: Which was to read a psalm over my life, and as a prayer to God to still whatever chaotic notions lay in my heart…

DSCN0154

*Photo from my Melbourne trip.

I prayed Psalm 139 over my life as I paced back in forth in my flat… and I will type it out again here… as yet another prayer much needed… I pray it blesses you too. And if you feel yourself anxious or nervous or like a tumultuous sea, I pray God covers you in His encompassing peace and love.

O Lord you have searched me and you know me. You Know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O Lord. You hem me in-behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to obtain. where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; If I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, If I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast…”

 

2 thoughts on “Psalm 139”

    1. Wow! Have to say that your Great Ocean Road experience was a little more adventurous! And on the sunny side are was a storm but still beautiful…. Thanks for reading. :)

Leave a Reply

