Summer Ruminating

IMG_0045_thumb2IMG_0042_thumb2

I am sitting here in my flat surrounded by quietness. The pastel pink roses sit in the vase in front of me looking so delightful and beautiful that they are quickly not belonging to the changing landscape of Sydney. Its beginning to turn cold now. The air from the outside comes in with a nip and a small bite, and the leafs on the trees are tingeing with small hints of golden color, and beginning to fall like golden flakes.
January passed slow with too much heat that kept people indoors to make their AirCon their best friend. It was too hot for coffee (well not for real Aussies) and the days became impeccably long and filled with tangerine sunsets that are all too euphoric and found only in Australia (why yes, I am biased).
I had more mochas from The Bakery than I thought was possible, but in my defense their chocolate is definitely from another planet- or perhaps from the ancient Mayan’s themselves?- I dreamt of travels to India the land of spices and color to the snow covered Himalayas of Nepal, to the sunny West Coast that is California: it’s piers, the food, and the familiar faces.
bourke-street2338222_253855101320793_1000008891644[3]
I spent late nights “bussing” tables, taking orders until the moon danced high in the sky. And once the tables cleared, and the silverware was polished we would all sit together and laugh at spilled champagne, our mistakes and at life itself, while we munched away at our rice and blue eyed cod as the traffic lights caught in their circadian rhythm reminded us that we are all bound to time, and the effect of its gravity.
A world was born in me. I met new faces, and met a chef that quenched my appetite for food and got me addicted to MasterChef, I learned about food (or gastronomy) on a small level… I learned of Hokkaido Diver Scallops, what components exist in a Caramelized Pork Belly, and surprisingly of what star anise is and what tree it comes from. I learned of the nan whom inspired him to pick up the apron and knife and create… and it reminded me of my love affair with art, design and writing.
IMG_0144_thumb1IMG_0121_thumb1
December had me laughing under the trees of Centennial Park against the last glows of summer light as we watched movies amidst the trees. People chatting and getting caught up in the romance of it all as the stars came out from their hiding places, and as bats occasionally took flight from above. I learned of God, and his patience and His love for me. Reminding me that in Him there is always a new beginning, a new dawn, and that there is nothing that can separate me from His love.
IMG_0071_thumb1IMG_0056_thumb2
Long walks down Bourke Street, getting lost in a national forest/golf course, stumbling across beauty, staying up late, walking around in the city lights, visiting Palm Beach… What a Summer it has been. And as I reminisce I know that I will miss it greatly yet carry it in my heart ever so fondly. I am blessed to be able to call this home for just a season longer.
“And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer.”
F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby
Leave a Reply

