B&W Film Photography

jonathan-portrait

“To collect photographs is to collect the world.”

This semester I am fortunate enough to be taking a black and white film photography class. In this time I’ve learned to become one with my images. I have learned to win and lose. And what I mean by this, is that I have learned to accept my accomplishments when a roll of film comes out impeccably, or those times when I lose my favorite images to a bad combination of science, chemistry and time.

With black and white photography I have become more intentional with each frame taken. Each exposure more precious then the previous, and only seeing my images after 15 minutes of sweating in a small closet in the dark, searching for my reel, and carefully and steadily reeling all my film until its perfectly fitted onto that circular plastic wheel-hopefully free of fingerprints. After an hour of prepping chemicals and agitating the tank carefully, eyeing the clock meticulously, each second vital to the process…tick, tick, tick.

I see my coffeeimages…

Only after I take my film out of the photo flow and pray there’s images in that fragile un-spooled film. When there is, a sort of joy escapes you, and there they are appearing before your very eyes all those images you carefully took, like some sort of magic or sorcery.

This is the reward-when I can’t simply see an image through a screen on the back of the camera.

Therefore, when I am behind that film camera all things need to connect: vision, light, hand and heart.

Enjoy these snippets.

-Diana

buddyapplesbirds

Leave a Reply

